Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communication Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher appoints member to the Southern Growth Policies Board

Press Release Date:  Monday, August 29, 2005  
Contact Information:  Carla Blanton
Michael Goins
Jodi Whitaker

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher has appointed Ellen C. Williams, of Lawrenceburg, as the newest member of the Southern Growth Policies Board. 

Williams is commissioner of the Governor’s Office of Local Development. She is the former vice-chairman of the Public Service Commission and a previous chair and public affairs executive of the Republican Party of Kentucky. Williams received her bachelor’s degree in business education from the University of Kentucky. 

The Southern Growth Policies Board is made up of five members from each participating state; the governor of each state appoints two residents. The participating states are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the territory of the Virgin Islands.  

The purpose of the board is to improve facilities and procedures for study, analysis and planning of government policies, programs and activities of regional significance. The board assists in prevention of interstate conflicts and promotion of regional cooperation.