Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communication Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher appoints three members to the Board of Nursing

Press Release Date:  Monday, August 29, 2005  
Contact Information:  Carla Blanton
Michael Goins
Jodi Whitaker

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher has appointed three members to the Board of Nursing. 

Melda Sue Logan, of Jeff, is a retired nurse. Logan received her nursing degree from St. Elizabeth School of Nursing, her bachelor’s degree from St. Joseph’s College and her master’s in nursing from Bellarmine College. She is a board member of the Area Health Education Center. 

Carol Komara, of Lexington, is a staff development specialist for the University of Kentucky Department of Nursing. Komara received her bachelor’s degree in nursing from Vanderbilt University and her master’s degree in nursing from Bellarmine University. She is a member of the Sigma Theta Tau National Honor Society for Nurses, the Association of Women’s Health – Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, the National Nurses Staff Development Organization and the Central Kentucky Nursing Staff Development Organization. 

Patricia C. Birchfield, of Lexington, is a nursing professor for Eastern Kentucky University. Birchfield received her bachelor’s and her master’s degrees in nursing from the University of Kentucky and her doctorate in nursing from the University of Alabama at Birmingham. She is a member of the American Nurse’s Association, the Kentucky Nurse’s Association, the Kentucky Coalition of Nurse Practitioners and the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners.    

The Board of Nursing is made up of 16 gubernatorial appointees. The board approves programs of nursing and regulates and controls the licensing and conduct of nurses within the commonwealth.