Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communication Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher appoints four to the Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, August 23, 2005  
Contact Information:  Carla Blanton
Michael Goins
Jodi Whitaker

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher has announced the appointment of Kate N. Wenzel as the newest member of the Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service. Governor Fletcher has also reappointed Victoria L. Golden, Ed. D. Alvaton, Alan C. Taylor and Jana D. Sturm to the commission.

Wenzel, of Edgewood, is the school nurse for Summit Country Day School. Wenzel received her bachelor’s of science in nursing from Duquesne University and her master’s as an education specialist from Slippery Rock. She is married to Peter Wenzel.

Golden, of Alvaton, is a program manager for Life Skills, Inc. Golden received her undergraduate and master’s degrees from Western Kentucky University and her education doctorate from the University of Louisville.  Golden was originally appointed last year to serve out the remaining term of former member Ray Nelson of Lawrenceburg.

Taylor, of Henderson, is a small business owner of a personal safety equipment company.  This is Taylor’s second term on the commission.

Sturm, of Frankfort, is an insurance agent for Sturm Insurance in Frankfort. Sturm has been a member of the commission since 2000.

The Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service is made up of no more than 25 gubernatorial appointees.  The commission provides statewide strategic planning to enable citizens to address serious social problems through service to local communities.  The commission oversees and submits Kentucky’s annual applications to the Corporation for National Service and other funding sources for the continuation and expansion of the Kentucky Service Initiative.