Governor Ernie Fletcher’s Communication Office
Governor Ernie Fletcher reappoints two members of the Agricultural Development Board

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, August 23, 2005  
Contact Information:  Carla Blanton
Michael Goins
Jodi Whitaker

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher has reappointed Rodney Dick, of Nancy, and Sam E. Moore, of Morgantown, to the Agricultural Development Board.

Dick is a farmer and employed by the Pulaski County Road Department. He is a member of the Farm Credit Services Advisory Board and has served as president of the Nancy Young Farmers and vice president of the Lake Cumberland Young Farmers.

Moore is a farmer and a native of Butler County. He is the president of the Farm Bureau Federation, and was nominated by the Farm Bureau for this appointment. Moore is a five-year veteran to the board.

The Agricultural Development Board is made up of 15 members, 11 of whom are appointed by the governor. The board was created in 2000 and serves to distribute 50 percent of the state’s monies received from the Masters Settlement Agreement for the general purpose of agricultural development within the commonwealth. The board invests these funds into innovative proposals to increase net farm income and effect tobacco farmers, tobacco-impacted communities and agriculture across the state by stimulating markets for Kentucky agricultural products, finding new ways to add value to Kentucky agricultural products and exploring new opportunities for Kentucky farms.