Skip to the content of the page.
State Agency List Calendar Newsroom Site MapHelp CenterAdvanced Search
State Seal First Lady's Office
First Lady Glenna Fletcher Joins the Board Directors of the Thomas D. Clark Foundation
Press Release Date:  July 16, 2004

Jodi George


Mrs. Fletcher’s service on this board is consistent with her passion of promoting literacy among Kentuckians

Frankfort, KY:   The Thomas D. Clark Foundation announced today that First Lady Glenna Fletcher has been nominated to the Thomas D. Clark Foundation’s Board of Directors. The Thomas D. Clark Foundation is a private, nonprofit foundation that provides financial support for the University Press of Kentucky and the organization’s publication of books about Kentucky and the southeast region.  The Foundation is named in honor of Professor Emeritus Thomas Clark, Kentucky’s historian laureate and the founder of The University Press of Kentucky.

“Promoting literacy among Kentuckians is one of my passions. I am privileged to serve on this board with several distinguished Kentuckians including one of our Commonwealth’s most cherished and beloved citizens - renowned historian, educator, and writer, Dr. Thomas Clark,”  stated Mrs. Fletcher.

The mission of this Foundation is to provide financial support for the University Press.  The University Press of Kentucky has established itself as the single most important provider of vital and accurate information about the Commonwealth, and it is committed to publishing books of enduring value to the citizens of Kentucky. It was instrumental in the publication of such books as The Kentucky Encyclopedia, The Encyclopedia of Louisville, Atlas of Kentucky and the forthcoming The Encyclopedia of Northern Kentucky.

The University Press of Kentucky is the nonprofit statewide scholarly publishing house for the Commonwealth of Kentucky, serving the state’s public universities, five leading private colleges and universities, and Kentucky’s two major historical societies.

Other newly elected members to its Board of Directors are Mrs. Edward T. Breathitt, Keith Hall, Louis Prichard, and Martha Johnson.



Last updated: Monday, July 26, 2004