Office of the Attorney General
Attorney General Stumbo Introduces Nominees for Personnel Board Vacancies Resulting from Agreed Order

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, September 05, 2006  
Contact Information:  Vicki Glass, 502-696-5643 Office  

Attorney General Greg Stumbo today introduced the first three nominations for appointment to the state Personnel Board. This morning he submitted the nominations in a letter to Governor Fletcher.

“This ensures plenty of time to select a board member before the next scheduled board meeting on September 15th,” said Stumbo at a press conference held at the Capitol. “A replacement needs to be named by the next meeting or there will not be a required quorum of members to make important judgments on state worker grievances.”

As part of the Agreed Order resolving the merit hiring investigation, the four members of the Personnel Board who were appointed by the Governor resigned their positions. It was agreed that Attorney General Stumbo would submit to the Governor a list of three names for each vacancy created.

The nominees submitted today are:

  • Margaret Daniel – Following a commendable career in personnel administration with the Commonwealth of Kentucky, Ms. Daniel has continued to mentor public spirited students. She was instrumental in reinvigorating the Co-op/Intern program to provide a talented applicant pool for government service. Ms. Daniel is a registered Democrat.
  • Lt. Richard A. Pearson – A member of Louisville Metropolitan Police Department, Lt. Pearson is a former United States Marine who has a distinguished record of service to his country. Lt. Pearson is a registered Republican.
  • Betty Gibson: Retired from a highly regarded career in education, Mrs. Gibson was Vice President for Student Affairs at Kentucky State University and has a lengthy record of public service with diverse boards and agencies. Ms. Gibson is a registered Democrat.

Margaret Daniel and Lt. Pearson joined the Attorney General in making the announcement. Ms. Gibson was unable to attend due to prior commitments. Mark Sipek, Executive Director of the Personnel Board, was also in attendance.

“These three outstanding nominees possess varied backgrounds, political affiliations and real world experience that will serve the Commonwealth well,” said Stumbo.

Today’s nominations are for the vacated position of E. Patrick Moores whose term expires on January 1, 2010.