Secretary of State
Candidates for Court of Appeals Position Face Upcoming Deadline

Press Release Date:  Thursday, January 18, 2007  
Contact Information:  Les Fugate, Director of Communications
Office of the Secretary of State
Office: (502) 564-3490
Cell: (502) 229-3803

(Frankfort, KY)  The Office of the Secretary of State received notification today from Chief Justice Joseph Lambert that a vacancy exists in the 1st Division of the 3rd District of the Kentucky Court of Appeals and therefore an election to fill the unexpired term is necessary.  The effective date of the vacancy, January 2, 2007, requires candidates to file for this office no later than January 30, 2007, at 4:00 p.m. EST in order to be placed on the ballot.  If three of more candidates file, there will be a primary held on May 22, 2007; if two or less file, candidates will only appear on the November general election ballot.

“It is important for candidates to realize that the timeframe for filing for this office is rather short; thus, they need to act immediately in order to ensure that their papers are filed on time and in proper order,” stated Secretary of State Trey Grayson.

Some of the qualifications for a judge of the Court of Appeals include: U.S. citizenship, a resident of both the Commonwealth and of the district from which he is elected for 2 years next preceding his taking office, licensed to practice law in the courts of the Commonwealth, and a licensed attorney for at least 8 years.

Candidate filing packets can be obtained by calling the Office of the Secretary of State Election Division at (502) 564-3490.

For more information about filing to run for elected office in Kentucky, to obtain a copy of Declaring Your Candidacy, a ballot access procedural manual, or to view a list of candidates, please visit

The 3rd Appellate District is comprised of Adair, Bell, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Estill, Garrard, Green, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Lincoln, Marion, McCreary, Metcalfe, Monroe, Nelson, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Taylor, Washington, Wayne and Whitley counties.

# # #