Kentucky Court of Justice
Judicial Nominating Commission announces nominees for judgeship in Anderson, Shelby and Spencer counties

Press Release Date:  Thursday, June 26, 2014  
Contact Information:  Leigh Anne Hiatt, APR
Public Information Officer
502-573-2350, x 50031

FRANKFORT, Ky., -- The Judicial Nominating Commission, led by Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr., today announced nominees to fill the vacant District Court judgeship for Anderson, Shelby and Spencer counties. The counties compose the 53rd Judicial District and the open seat is in the district’s 1st Division.

The three attorneys named as nominees to fill the vacancy are Robert M. Coots and Ruth Ann Hollan of Taylorsville and Betty A. Springate of Lawrenceburg.

Coots practices law with the Coots Law Office in Taylorsville. He earned a juris doctor from the University of Kentucky College of Law.

Hollan has served as the county attorney for Spencer County since 2003. She holds a juris doctor from the University of Louisville Louis D. Brandeis School of Law.

Springate most recently served as assistant county attorney and county attorney for Anderson County. She received a juris doctor from the University of Baltimore School of Law.

The vacancy was created when Judge Linda S. Armstrong resigned March 16, 2014.

Judicial Nominating Process
When a judicial vacancy occurs, the executive secretary of the Judicial Nominating Commission publishes a notice of vacancy in the judicial circuit or the judicial district affected. Attorneys may recommend someone or nominate themselves. The names of the applicants are not released. Once nominations occur, the individuals interested in the position return a questionnaire to the Office of the Chief Justice. Chief Justice Minton then meets with the Judicial Nominating Commission to choose three nominees. Because the Kentucky Constitution requires that three names be submitted to the governor, in some cases the commission submits an attorney’s name even though the attorney did not apply. A letter naming the three nominees is sent to Gov. Steve Beshear for review. The governor has 60 days to appoint a replacement, and his office makes the announcement.

Makeup of the Judicial Nominating Commission
The Judicial Nominating Commission is established in the Kentucky Constitution. Ky. Const. § 118; SCR 6.000, et seq. The commission has seven members. The membership is comprised of the chief justice of Kentucky (who also serves as chair), two lawyers elected by all the lawyers in their circuit/district and four Kentucky citizens who are appointed by the governor. The four citizens appointed by the governor must equally represent the two major political parties, so two must be Democrats and two must be Republicans. It is the responsibility of the commission to submit a list of three names to the governor and the governor must appoint a judge from this list of three.

District Court
District Court judges handle juvenile matters, city and county ordinances, misdemeanors, violations, traffic offenses, probate of wills, arraignments, felony probable cause hearings, small claims involving $2,500 or less, civil cases involving $5,000 or less, voluntary and involuntary mental commitments and cases relating to domestic violence and abuse.

Administrative Office of the Courts
The Administrative Office of the Courts in Frankfort is the operations arm for the state court system. The AOC supports the activities of nearly 3,300 court system employees and 403 elected justices, judges and circuit court clerks. As the fiscal agent for the state court system, the AOC executes the Judicial Branch budget.