Kentucky Court of Justice
Lee County circuit court clerk retires amid investigation into possible official misconduct

Press Release Date:  Thursday, August 06, 2015  
Contact Information:  Jamie Neal
Public Information Specialist
502-573-2350, x 50033

Supsension Order

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Lee County Circuit Court Clerk Emma C. Adams, who was suspended this week pending an investigation into possible official misconduct, has retired effective Aug. 5.

The Administrative Office of the Courts initiated the investigation. The AOC’s audit of the Lee County Office of Circuit Court Clerk will continue in conjunction with a criminal investigation by the Office of Attorney General.

Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr. suspended Adams on Aug. 3 from performing any official duties for the court system.

Owsley County Circuit Court Clerk A. Michael Mays is serving as special circuit court clerk for the office until a clerk is appointed. The office is operating with normal business hours. The office is located in the Lee County Courthouse at 256 Main St. in Beattyville. 

Circuit Court Clerks
Circuit court clerks are responsible for managing the records of Kentucky’s Circuit and District courts. Circuit clerks are constitutionally elected officials from all 120 counties and serve a six-year term. They provide professional recordkeeping, receive money due the courts, pay money to required parties and to the state, record legal documents, provide legal documents and other legal materials, maintain the jury system, administer oaths, handle affidavits and issue driver licenses and non-driver ID cards.

Administrative Office of the Courts
The AOC is the operations arm for the state court system and supports the activities of 3,300 court system employees and 403 elected justices, judges and circuit court clerks. As the fiscal agent for the state court system, the AOC executes the Judicial Branch budget.