Kentucky Court of Justice
Daviess County District Judge Lisa P. Jones receives 2015 Chief Justice’s Special Service Award

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, July 14, 2015  
Contact Information:  Jamie Neal
Public Information Specialist
502-573-2350, x 50033

In addition to this news release, there is a newspaper article in the Owensboro Messenger-Inquirer about Judge Jones receiving the Chief Justice's Special Service AwardClick for article.

Chief Justice and Judge Jones with award

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Daviess County Chief District Court Judge Lisa P. Jones has received the 2015 Chief Justice’s Special Service Award for her service as a district judge and her work in the areas of family and juvenile law. Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr. presented the award to Judge Jones at the Kentucky Bar Association’s annual banquet June 18 in Lexington. 

“Judge Jones has taken on significant roles in reforming the juvenile justice system in Kentucky while maintaining a full District Court docket in Daviess County and being a leader in her community,” Chief Justice Minton said. “She genuinely cares about young people and families and has shown extraordinary dedication to improving their lives through her judicial work and her volunteerism. I am grateful to Judge Jones for sharing her knowledge and time and was honored to present the special service award to her for her valuable contributions to the court system and the commonwealth.”

Chief Justice Minton appointed Judge Jones in 2012 to the state Task Force on the Unified Juvenile Code, a committee the state legislature created to review and research the juvenile justice system and to recommend improvements. The result was Senate Bill 200, a bill that passed with bipartisan support and made sweeping changes to the juvenile justice system. The legislation calls for young offenders to be steered into community-based treatment rather than being jailed.

As one of the two court system representatives on the task force, Judge Jones helped ensure that the interests of court designated workers and judges were considered during the months of meetings and hearings that preceded the legislation. Court designated workers process complaints against individuals under 18 and try to help them get on a better path in life.

Due to her work with the task force and her experience in juvenile justice, Gov. Steve Beshear appointed Judge Jones in 2014 to the Juvenile Justice Oversight Council. The council is responsible for overseeing the implementation of the juvenile justice reform legislation, measuring the legislation’s impact and continuing to review the juvenile justice system for possible improvements. Deputy Chief Justice Mary C. Noble enlisted Judge Jones to have an integral role in drafting the first statewide rules of practice and procedure for juvenile cases.

At home in Daviess County, Judge Jones presides in Daviess County Juvenile Drug Court and directs the Daviess County Model Court Project, which aims to improve outcomes for cases involving abused and neglected children, juvenile offenders and their families. Model courts are evaluated and share their results with other courts to help them improve. Judge Jones is also a member of the Daviess County Race, Child Welfare and the Community Committee and the state Juvenile Justice Advisory Board’s Subcommittee for Equity and Justice for All Youth. She is on the Advisory Panel of the Kentucky Court Improvement Program, which focuses on enhancing the role of courts in achieving stable, permanent homes for children in foster care. She is an alumna of the Leadership Kentucky program and has been recognized by the Owensboro Messenger-Inquirer for her community leadership.

In 2014, Judge Jones was named Kentucky Judge of the Year by the Kentucky Citizen Foster Care Review Board in her area. CASA, the Court Appointed Special Advocates program, chose her as its Judge of the Year in 2011. Her alma mater, Brescia University, recognized her as one of its Distinguished Alumni in 2010.

Judge Jones is a Daviess County native and has served as a Daviess County District Court Judge since 2001. She was elected to her first full term in November 2002, becoming the first elected female judge in Daviess County. She received her juris doctor from the University of Kentucky College of Law.

Prior to taking the bench, she practiced law in Owensboro and served pro bono in Daviess District Court as a guardian ad litem for children and as an advocate for parents involved in dependency, neglect and abuse cases.

Chief Justice
The chief justice is the administrative head of the state court system and is responsible for overseeing its operation. Chief Justice Minton was elected to the Supreme Court in 2006. His fellow justices elected him to serve a four-year term as chief justice in 2008 and re-elected him for a second term in 2012.
Administrative Office of the Courts
The AOC is the operations arm for the state court system and supports the activities of 3,300 court system employees and 403 elected justices, judges and circuit court clerks. As the fiscal agent for the state court system, the AOC executes the Judicial Branch budget.