Kentucky Court of Justice
Justice David A. Barber to be formally sworn in as a Supreme Court justice March 23 at the Capitol

Press Release Date:  Thursday, March 19, 2015  
Contact Information:  Jamie Neal
Public Information Specialist
502-573-2350, x 50033

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Justice David A. Barber will be formally sworn in as a justice of the Supreme Court of Kentucky at an investiture ceremony Monday, March 23, at the state Capitol in Frankfort. Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr. will swear in the new justice. The event is open to the public and will take place at 1:30 p.m. EDT in the Supreme Court Courtroom on the second floor of the Capitol at 700 Capitol Ave.

Gov. Steve Beshear appointed Justice Barber on March 4 to serve as the justice from the 7th Supreme Court District. Justice Barber served as a Court of Appeals judge from 2000 to 2007 and has been an attorney in private practice and public service for more than 33 years.

Justice Barber was appointed to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Justice Will T. Scott in January 2015.

The counties in the 7th Supreme Court District are Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Elliott, Floyd, Greenup, Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Rowan and Wolfe.

Supreme Court
The Supreme Court is the state court of last resort and the final interpreter of Kentucky law. Seven justices sit on the Supreme Court and all seven justices rule on appeals that come before the court. The justices are elected from seven appellate districts and serve eight-year terms. A chief justice, chosen for a four-year term by fellow justices, is the administrative head of the state’s court system and is responsible for its operation. The Supreme Court may order a ruling or opinion to be published, which means that the ruling becomes the case law governing all similar cases in the future in Kentucky.