Arts Council
Governor’s Mansion features special art exhibit

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, January 04, 2012  
Revision Date:  Thursday, January 05, 2012 
Contact Information:  Ed Lawrence
Communications Director
502-564-3757, ext. 473

FRANKFORT, Ky. — The Kentucky Arts Council presents an exhibit of artwork, “Commissioned to Create: Works by Artists who Created the Governor’s Awards (1993-2011).” The awards, along with other artwork created by this distinguished group of Kentucky artists, will be on display Jan. 9 - April 15, 2012, at the Governor’s Mansion, 704 Capital Ave., Frankfort, Ky.

The public can view this artwork during regularly scheduled tours of the Governor’s Mansion from 9 - 11 a.m., every Tuesday and Thursday (excluding some federal and all state holidays).

“Steve and I are so pleased that visitors to the Mansion will have the opportunity to view these spectacular works during the upcoming months,” said First Lady Jane Beshear. “We both value and take great pride in the wealth of artistic talent throughout our Commonwealth.”

Featured artists are: Dan Neil Barnes, Lexington; Wayne Bates, Murray; William M. Duffy, Louisville; Linda Fifield, McKee; Ken Gastineau, Berea; Tracy Hawkins, Lexington; John Lackey, Lexington; the late Homer Ledford, Winchester; the late Rude Osolnik, Berea; Stephen Rolfe Powell, Danville; Arturo Alonzo Sandoval, Lexington; Rebekka Seigel, Owenton; Brooke Forrest White Jr., Louisville; LaVon Van Williams Jr., Lexington; and Jennifer Zingg, Frankfort.

The Kentucky Arts Council, the state arts agency, creates opportunities for Kentuckians to value, participate in and benefit from the arts. Kentucky Arts Council funding is provided by the Kentucky General Assembly and the National Endowment for the Arts.

- ### -


Related Content

Glass artwork by Dan Neil Barnes

Dan Neil Barnes


Related Content

Bowl by Rude Osolnik

Rude Osolnik


Quilt be Rebekka Seigel

Rebekka Seigel