Arts Council
Gov. Beshear appoints Ermine artist to Kentucky Arts Council Board

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, February 24, 2015  
Contact Information:  Tom Musgrave
Communications Director
502-564-3757, ext. 489

FRANKFORT, Ky. — Lacy Hale, of Ermine, is the newest board member of the Kentucky Arts Council.

Hale was appointed by Gov. Steve Beshear to a four-year term, which will expire Feb. 1, 2019. She is a full-time artist, co-founder and coordinator of the regional arts group EpiCentre Arts, and coordinator of the Appalshop Gallery in Whitesburg. Hale is also a member of the newly formed Kentucky Art Tribe, is on the board of the Appalachian Arts Alliance and is on the Artist Advisory Board for the Appalachian Artisan Center in Hindman.

Three board members have been reappointed to terms that will also expire Feb. 1, 2019. The board members are:

  • John S. Hockensmith, Georgetown
  • Helen W. Mountjoy, Utica
  • Mary Michael Corbett, Louisville

Corbett is designated the arts council board chair.

Other members of the board are: Everett D. McCorvey, board vice chair, Lexington; Paul E. Fourshee, Louisville; Ronald Johnson, Fort Mitchell; Jo Hern Curris, Lexington; Randall Vaughn, Lexington; Todd Parker Lowe, Simpsonville; Jayne Moore Waldrop, Lexington; Kathleen Timmons Setterman, Ashland; Andee D. Rudloff, Bowling Green; Josephine D. Richardson, Whitesburg; Wilma Brown, Danville; and Darlene M. Mazzone, Paducah.

The Kentucky Arts Council, the state arts agency, fosters environments for Kentuckians to value, participate in and benefit from the arts. Kentucky Arts Council funding is provided by the Kentucky General Assembly and the National Endowment for the Arts. The arts council, along with the NEA, celebrates 50 years of service in 2015, which the arts council is recognizing as the Year of the Arts in Kentucky.

- ### -

Follow us! View us! Join the conversation!