Commission on Human Rights
Read the Kentucky Human Rights Commission Focus on Fair Housing Spring Newsletter

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, May 05, 2015  
Contact Information:  Victoria Stephens
Mrs. Stephens's Mobile Telephone: 502.641.0760
Commission Headquarters (and for help with discrimination) 1.800.292.5566

The Kentucky Commission on Human Rights is pleased to issue its Spring 2015 Newsletter, the 'Focus on Fair Housing' Edition. The commission thanks the United States Department for Housing and Urban Development for its partnership and support.

Follow this link to read the newsletter:

Some articles inside:

Housing Discrimination Tears at National Fabric - page 1 

Housing Segregation and Fighting It - page 2

What is the Uniform Residential Landlord Tenant Act? - page 4

Financial Transaction Civil Rights Include Fair Housing Rights - page 6

Commission Rulings during February, March and April - page 10

Adair County, Ky., forms a Local Human Rights Commission - page 13

Kentucky Human Rights Commissioner Receives Kentucky Martin Luther King Citizenship Award - page 15

KKK Group Marches in Three Northern Kentucky Towns - page 16

The Kentucky Commission on Human Rights is the state government authority that enforces the Kentucky Civil Rights Act (Kentucky Revised Statutes Chapter 344), and, through its affiliation with the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and the U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development, enforces federal civil rights laws.

The Kentucky Civil Rights Act makes it illegal to discriminate against people in the areas of employment, financial transactions, housing and public accommodations. Discrimination is prohibited in the aforementioned areas based on race, color, religion, national origin, gender, and disability. In employment, discrimination is further prohibited on the basis of age (40-years and over) and on the basis of tobacco-smoking status. In housing, discrimination is further prohibited based on familial status, which protects people with children in the household under the age of 18-years old, and it protects women who are pregnant. It is also a violation of the law to retaliate against a person for complaining of discrimination to the commission.

For help with discrimination, contact the commission at 1.800.292.5566.