Justice and Public Safety Cabinet

Press Release Date:  Thursday, January 26, 2006  
Contact Information:  Abbie Darst, (859) 622-6453; (859) 358-8520  

RICHMOND, Ky. – Law enforcement officers from 14 agencies across Kentucky graduated today from the Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Law Enforcement Basic Training Academy.


The 20-member class underwent 16 weeks of training, which consisted of more than 660 hours of recruit-level officer academy instruction. Major training areas include law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigation, first aid/CPR, patrol procedures and mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.


The academy is located on the campus of Eastern Kentucky University.


Graduates of Class 365 and their agencies are:

Bobby R. Bailey, Salyersville Police Department

Nicholas Scott Bath, Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Airport Police Department

Kevin Michael Bergfeld, Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Airport Police Department

Patrick N. Bowen, Pioneer Village Police Department

Ryan S. Collins, Paris Police Department

Robert Matthew Cope, Kentucky Department of Parks

Scot Page Daniels, Cumberland County Sheriff’s Office

Robert C. Fulton, Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Airport Police Department

Sheryl E. Gordon, Kentucky Insurance Fraud Cabinet

James O. Howard, Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Airport Police Department

Bud P. Lyons, Menifee County Sheriff’s Office

Randy T. Medlock, London Police Department

Matt J. Mercer, Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Airport Police Department

James E. Miskanin, Jr., Covington Police Department

Michael R. Nickels, Salyersville Police Department

Michael James Petri, Elsmere Police Department

Andrew G. Staggs, Nicholasville Police Department

Travis N. Thompson, Winchester Police Department

Ian K. Thurman, Alcoholic Beverage Control

Michael S. Wright, Elsmere Police Department


DOCJT Basic Training Academy Class