Kentucky Historical Society
New Marker Provides History of Monroe County Town
FRANKFORT, Ky. (March 9, 2015) – The
Kentucky Historical Society (KHS) will dedicate a new historical marker celebrating
the Monroe County town of Gamaliel on March 27.
The ceremony will take
place at 1 p.m. CDT at the elementary school, 320 W. Main St. in Gamaliel. The
marker unveiling will take place at Gamaliel Cemetery, 540 W. Main St., after
The marker focuses on the town’s 19th century development.
By 1790, pioneers had settled in the area, a few miles from the Tennessee state
line. Around 1835, town leaders named the small, developing community after a
New Testament teacher. In 1836, Gamaliel residents John Hayes and James
Crawford gave the town 10 acres of land, and in 1840, the town built a log
structure there that served as the first school and church. Gamaliel also was
incorporated that year. Gamaliel Cemetery had its first burial in 1844. A post
office opened in 1870, and the Gamaliel Bank opened in 1903.
Friends of Gamaliel Cemetery sponsored the marker.
More than 2,200 historical markers statewide tell Kentucky’s
history. More information about the marker application process, a database of
markers and their text and the Explore Kentucky History app, a virtual tour of
markers by theme, is at history.ky.gov/markers.
KHS administers the Kentucky Historical Marker Program in cooperation with the
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.
The Kentucky Historical Society, an agency of
the Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, was established in 1836 and is
committed to helping people understand, cherish and share Kentucky’s history. KHS
is fully accredited by the American Alliance of Museums. For more information
about KHS and its programs, visit history.ky.gov.