Kentucky Historical Society
Kentucky Historical Society Announces Kentucky History Award Winners

Press Release Date:  Tuesday, November 04, 2014  
Contact Information:  CONTACT: Stuart Sanders
502-564-1792, ext. 4474

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Nov. 4, 2014) – The Kentucky Historical Society (KHS) this week will present the 2014 Kentucky History Awards to people, communities and organizations across the commonwealth who have shown a consistent effort to promote the preservation and appreciation of state and local history.

KHS will honor these winners Nov. 7 at the annual Kentucky History Awards dinner:


Service/Special Awards

      Gary L. Johnston, Edgewood, Award of Distinction

      Joseph E. Brent, Versailles, Brig. Gen. William R. Buster Award

    James H. Miller, Harrodsburg, Lifetime Dedication to Kentucky History Award

    Fredonia Valley Heritage Society, Thomas D. Clark Award of Excellence

Education Awards

      Logan County Genealogical Society, “Logan Links”

    Todd Hatton and Chad Lampe, WKMS News, Murray State, “Kentucky Dam: Power for the People”

      Kentucky National Guard, “Remember the Raisin – Kentucky in the War of 1812”

      Manuscripts and Folklife Archives, Western Kentucky University, “JFK Memory Project”

      Liberty Hall Historic Site, Frankfort, “Kentucky Made: Decorative Arts from Liberty Hall”

      Behringer-Crawford Museum, Covington, “Vietnam: Our Story”

      The Kentucky Room at the Lexington Public Library, “Madeline Pollard eBook”

      The Aviation Museum of Kentucky, Lexington, Museum annual programming

Publication Awards

    Anthony W. Frohlich, Boone County, “A Kentucky Court: History of Boone County Courts”

    Fredonia Valley Heritage Society, “In Pursuit of Art: The Talent of John F. Rice”

    Genevieve Baird Lacer, Shelby County, and Libby Turner Howard, Henry County, “Collecting Kentucky, 1790-1860”

    T. R. C. Hutton, University of Tennessee, “Bloody Breathitt: Politics and Violence in the Appalachian South”

    Heart of Danville Main Street Program, “You Don’t Ever Want to Forget Second Street”

    Kenton County Historical Society, Kenton County Historical Society website

    The Kentucky Room at the Lexington Public Library, Central Kentucky Cemeteries Maps

The Register of the Kentucky Historical Society also will recognize Jacob Lee of Indiana University as recipient of the Richard L. Collins Award. Lee wrote “Unionism, Emancipation, and the Origins of Kentucky’s Confederate Identity,” published in Vol. 111, No. 2, spring of 2013. The award goes annually to the author of an article published in the Register that has been judged to have made the most outstanding contribution to Kentucky history.


The Kentucky Historical Society, an agency of the Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, was established in 1836 and is committed to helping people understand, cherish and share Kentucky’s history. For more information about KHS and its programs, visit