Governor Steve Beshear's Communications Office
Governor Beshear announces funding to improve 911 services across Kentucky

Press Release Date:  Friday, August 15, 2008  
Contact Information:  Jay Blanton
Jill Midkiff

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Kentucky Governor Steve Beshear today announced the awarding of $1,449,548.76 in 911 grants; awards designed to enhance public safety services at Kentucky’s 911 centers.  The 2008 CMRS Grant Fund awards were provided to 15 local communities and agencies across the Commonwealth to upgrade 911 services and to improve the effectiveness and reliability of landline and wireless 911.

“Nine-one-one upgrades through the Commercial Mobile Radio Service Emergency Telecommunications Board are absolutely essential in helping protect our residents and guests.  This latest effort, with emphasis on greatest statewide need, is further evidence of my emphasis on “taking care of Kentuckians first,” said Gov. Beshear

The following communities are the recipients of the 911 Grant funds:

  • Allen County Fiscal Court – $17,547.50
  • Oldham County Fiscal Court – $146,000.00
  • Breckinridge County Fiscal Court – $18,388.00
  • Logan County Fiscal Court – $139,173.36
  • Bell County Fiscal Court – $22,232.63
  • Pendleton County Fiscal Court – $159,637.17
  • Menifee County Fiscal Court – $68,549.00
  • Jessamine County  E911 Central Communications – $52,859.50
  • North Pennyrile E911 Board – $435,912.00
  • City of Campbellsville – $35,214.23
  • Lexington/Fayette Urban County Government – $177,015.00
  • Kentucky State Police – $32,788.21
  • City of Prestonsburg – $22,091.04
  • City of Georgetown – $60,076.00
  • City of Owensboro – $62,065.12

Grant awards presented by the Commercial Mobile Radio Service Emergency Telecommunications Board (CMRS) are designed to facilitate needed upgrades to 911 systems across the state and to support improvement of the 911 infrastructure supported by Commercial Mobile Radio Service wireless carriers throughout Kentucky.

The CMRS Board and The Office of the 911 Coordinator are administratively attached to the Kentucky Office of Homeland Security.