Kentucky Division of Conservation
2008 Jim Claypool Art and Conservation Writing Winners Announced

Press Release Date:  Friday, April 24, 2009  
Contact Information:  Stephen A. Coleman
Kimberly Richardson

The Kentucky Association of Conservation Districts in partnership with the Kentucky Farm Bureau announced the winners of the 2008 Art and Writing Contest entitled: “Working Trees: Kentucky’s Renewable Future.”  Students, grades K-12, from across the commonwealth used the forestry theme to create 40,267 art entries and 14,517 writing entries.  Judges from the local conservation districts chose county winners, whose entries then moved on to the state level competition.  A distinguished panel of judges with diverse environmental backgrounds selected state-wide winners in both categories on March 20, 2009.  State, area and county winners will receive a U.S. Savings Bond sponsored by the Kentucky Farm Bureau.

“These two contests have been conducted in our school systems across the commonwealth by conservation districts for well over 65 years.  Many of us now working in the conservation profession can remember creating our first essay or poster,” said Mr. Steve Coleman, Director of the Division of Conservation.  “These students represent the future of Kentucky’s environmental and conservation leaders.”

State winners for the Jim Claypool Art Contest are:

  • First place: Reed Skelton, Henderson County
  • Second place: Casey Welch, Bourbon County
  • Third place:  Mikie Dillon,  Pike County

State winners for the Conservation Writing Contest are:

  • First place: Shea Jennings, Jefferson County
  • Second place: Ruth M. Myers, Campbell County
  • Third place: Natalie Orms, Boyle County

Carl Campbell, Commissioner of the Department for Natural Resources added, “This traditional educational contest continues to promote the conservation of our natural resources.  I commend the partnership between the Kentucky Farm Bureau, the county Farm Bureaus, the Kentucky Association of Conservation Districts, the local conservation districts and the Division of Conservation for their efforts in rewarding these deserving students.”