Environmental and Public Protection Cabinet
New minimum wage takes effect June 26
FRANKFORT, Ky. (June 25, 2007) – Minimum-wage employees in Kentucky will see a boost in their income this week as their pay rises by 70 cents per hour.
Beginning June 26, the minimum wage will rise from the current $5.15 per hour to $5.85 per hour. Two future increases are scheduled – to $6.55 per hour, effective July 1, 2008, and $7.25 per hour, effective July 1, 2009.
The legislation puts Kentucky in compliance with the federal minimum wage when it changes.
“Both employers and employees throughout the commonwealth need to be aware that, as of Tuesday, June 26, the new minimum wage is a requirement of both Kentucky and federal law,” said Jim Zimmerman, executive director of the Office of Workplace Standards. “Employers should make the necessary adjustments to the wages of affected employees, and those employees should check their upcoming pay stubs to make sure they are properly compensated for their labor.”
No other changes have been made relative to wage payment requirements. Tip credit allowances for the restaurant industry and other tipped professions remain unchanged.
For further information contact the Kentucky Department of Labor between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. EDT at 502-564-3070.