Kentucky Emergency Management
Kentucky’s Leslie County Designated for Federal Assistance After July Storms

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, September 16, 2015  
Contact Information:  NEWS DESK: 502-209-2737  

FRANKFORT, Ky.  – The Federal Emergency Management Agency has amended a recent disaster declaration for severe storms in July in order to make survivors in Leslie County eligible for its Individual Assistance program.


Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in Leslie County can apply for assistance by registering online at or by calling 800-621-3362. Disaster assistance applicants who are deaf or hard of hearing should call 800-462-7585 (TTY); those who use 711 or Video Relay Service may call 800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time seven days a week until further notice.


Breathitt, Carter, Fleming, Johnson, Perry, Rowan and Trimble counties were previously designated for Individual Assistance.  


Individual Assistance can include money for temporary housing and essential home repairs for primary homes, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.





FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


For more information on Kentucky’s disaster recovery, visit or

On Facebook, go to To receive Twitter updates: or