Kentucky Emergency Management
Eight More Kentucky Counties Designated for Public Assistance

Press Release Date:  Friday, May 22, 2015  
Contact Information:  NEWS DESK: 502-607-6666  

FRANKFORT, Ky. – The Federal Emergency Management Agency has amended a recent disaster declaration in order to make eight more counties eligible for storm recovery assistance.

FEMA amended its May 1 major disaster declaration for severe April storms to add Carter, Floyd, Lincoln, Nicholas, Owen, Pike, Spencer and Whitley counties to the list of counties eligible for its Public Assistance program.

Local governments and eligible private nonprofit organizations in these designated counties may apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, disaster-related emergency services, and repair or replacement of damaged public infrastructure, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

FEMA’s Public Assistance program reimburses local and state agencies and certain nonprofit agencies for eligible expenses and damages that occurred during the response and recovery phase of the disaster.


“I'm grateful these additional counties have been included in this declaration,” said Michael Dossett, director of Kentucky Emergency Management. “Federal funding for their repair projects will greatly assist them on the road to recovery.”


With this amendment there are now a total of 27 Kentucky counties eligible for Public Assistance. The counties previously eligible are: Bath, Bourbon, Breathitt, Bullitt, Clark, Elliott, Estill, Franklin, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Lee, Lewis, Madison, Magoffin, Metcalfe, Morgan, Owsley and Wolfe.




FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.


FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.


For more information on Kentucky’s disaster recovery, visit or

On Facebook, go to To receive Twitter updates: or