Council on Postsecondary Education
Council approves new programs at EKU, UK, UofL

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, September 30, 2015  
Contact Information:  Sue Patrick
Cell: 502-330-6596

The Council on Postsecondary Education approved four new academic programs aligned to health care and health care-oriented fields at its meeting yesterday in Lexington.

The new programs include:

  • Eastern Kentucky University—Bachelor of Science in biomedical science and a Master of Science in athletic training,
  • University of Kentucky—Bachelor of Science in neuroscience,
  • University of Louisville—doctor of nursing practice.

The Council also approved interim authorization of two privately funded capital projects at the University of Louisville--a $2 million soccer practice field and a $2 million visitors center.

For the Kentucky Community and Technical College System, the Council authorized a new federally funded Pikeville Technology Center at the Big Sandy Community and Technical College. The $4.5 million center will include classroom and lab space and a high-bay training area to house the Kentucky Regional Telecommunications Training Program.

In other business, the Council amended the Kentucky/Indiana reciprocity agreement to include Spencer County, Kentucky, to the agreement and approved the 2015-16 agency operating budget.

The Council heard several reports, including an update on the 2016-20 strategic agenda planning process and performance presentations from Murray State University and Morehead State University. Other reports included President’s report, Kentucky Department of Education, Committee on Equal Opportunities, and reports from the campuses were also available.

The oath of office was administered to new members W. Bruce Ayers, Mark Guilfoyle and Brenda H. McGown.

Chair Glenn Denton appointed Pam Miller to the Budget Development Work Group, Bruce Ayers to the Committee on Equal Opportunities, and Donna Moore to the Executive Committee. He appointed Joe Graviss, Donna Moore, Dan Flanagan and MaryAnne Elliott to the retreat committee.

Resolutions were approved for Kentucky Adult Education employees Tammy Powers and Donnie J. Begley, who recently retired, and for Arnold Taylor for his service on the Council.

The Council’s next meeting will be Nov. 12-13 at Gateway Community and Technical College.

Council meeting materials are available at  


Follow us on Twitter