Department of Corrections
C.A. Wilkerson Named Acting PREA Coordinator. Coleman Morrell Named Acting Assistant Director of KCI

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, November 05, 2014  
Revision Date:  Thursday, November 06, 2014 
Contact Information:  Todd Henson
502-564-4726 (office)
502-229-5638 (cell)

Kentucky Department of Corrections Commissioner LaDonna Thompson today announced that C.A. Wilkerson has been named acting PREA coordinator for the department. The Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) was signed into law Sept. 4, 2003. PREA is intended to address the detection, prevention, reduction and prosecution of sexual harassment and abuse in all correctional facilities in the country. Wilkerson will assume his new duties Nov. 16.

Wilkerson began his career in state government in October 2006 when he was named as the executive director of the Kentucky Parole Board.  In December 2010, he was named as the assistant director of Kentucky Correctional Industries (KCI) for the Department of Corrections.

Wilkerson is a 1991 graduate of Hanover College where he received a bachelor’s degree in business administration.  He is also the recipient of a 2014 Department of Corrections Commissioner’s Award.

Coleman Morrell, a six-year veteran of the department, will take over as acting assistant director of KCI.  He will assume his new duties effective Nov. 16.
“I am certain that both C.A. and Coleman will do an excellent job in their new positions,” said Thompson. “They possess a great deal of knowledge and experience and both have a strong work ethic that will serve them and the department well.”

Morrell began his career with the Department of Corrections in July 2008 as a correctional officer at the Kentucky Correctional Institution for Women.  He was promoted to sergeant in January 2010 and later that same year was again promoted to institutional training coordinator.  In November 2013 he was promoted to program administrator for the Division of Adult Institutions.

Morrell is a 2002 graduate of the University of Dayton where he earned a bachelor’s degree in psychology and criminal justice.  He is also a 2014 graduate of the Commissioner’s Executive Leadership Program and the recipient of a 2012 Commissioner’s Award.