Governor's Office of Minority Empowerment
Martin Luther King, Jr. Annual Celebration

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, January 02, 2008  
Contact Information:  Vicki Glass, 502-564-2611, Cell 502-382-6973  

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commission Presents Its Annual Celebration, M.L. King, Jr. Citizenship Award and Essay and Visual Art Contest Winners

“The Dream . . . Remembering the Past, Shaping the Future”

FRANKFORT, KY  (January 2, 2008) - The Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commission will present its annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. State Celebration on January 15, 2008 at the Kentucky Historical Society in Frankfort at 4 p.m.  The theme of the event is “The Dream . . . Remembering the Past, Shaping the Future.”

Gov. Steve Beshear will present welcoming remarks and Dr. William H. Turner, National Endowment for the Humanities Chair – Appalachian Studies, Berea College, will be the featured keynote speaker.  The University of Kentucky Black Voices will provide the musical entertainment.

The Commission will award the Seventh Annual M. L. King, Jr. Citizenship Award to Rev. Walter L. Taylor, Sr., retired pastor of the Greater Liberty Baptist in Lexington. The Award is given to an individual within the Commonwealth that embodies the spirit and energy of the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. – known as a great American civil rights leader, religious patriot, and winner of the Nobel Peace prize.

The criteria for nominees included people who demonstrated leadership and achievement toward the principles of racial equality, interracial harmony, economic justice, participation in the Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday observances and dedication to Dr. King’s dream.

The Commission will also award 32 elementary, middle, and/or high school students with U.S. Savings Bonds as the winners of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Essay Contest and/or Visual Art Contest.  The awards will be presented by Mrs. Jane Beshear.  A list of all winners can be viewed at