Governor's Office of Minority Empowerment
Martin Luther King Jr. State Commission to Host Annual Celebration, Present Awards

Press Release Date:  Wednesday, January 10, 2007  
Contact Information:  Jodi Whitaker, 502-564-2611  

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Governor Ernie Fletcher will provide welcoming remarks at the state’s annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. celebration at 4 p.m. on Thursday, January 11, 2007, in the Capitol Rotunda in Frankfort.  “Living the Dream” is the theme of this year’s event, which is hosted by the Martin Luther King Jr. State Commission.

Rev. Dr. Kevin W. Cosby, senior pastor of St. Stephen Church in Louisville, will be the keynote speaker.  The Kentucky State University Vocal Ensemble, under the direction of Dr. Carl Smith, will provide musical entertainment. 

The commission will award the sixth annual Martin Luther King Jr. Citizenship Award to Dr. William H. Turner, vice president for university engagement and associate provost for multicultural affairs at the University of Kentucky.  The award is given to a Kentuckian who embodies the spirit and energy of the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

The commission will also award several elementary, middle and high school students with savings bonds as the winners of the annual Martin Luther King Jr. essay contest.  The awards will be presented by First Lady Glenna Fletcher.