Office of the Attorney General
Attorney General Conway Names 2012 Outstanding Commonwealth's and County Attorneys

Press Release Date:  Thursday, August 23, 2012  
Contact Information:  Shelley Catharine Johnson
Deputy Communications Director
502-696-5659 (office)

Attorney General Jack Conway today presented the awards for the 2012 Outstanding Commonwealth's and County Attorneys at the Kentucky Prosecutor's Conference at the Lexington Convention Center. More than 700 prosecutors, Commonwealth's and County Attorneys, staff members, as well as law enforcement from across Kentucky are attending the three-day conference sponsored by the Office of the Attorney General and the Prosecutors Advisory Council.

The recipients of the 2012 Outstanding Commonwealth's Attorney Awards are Lynn Pryor, Commonwealth's Attorney for the 3rd Judicial Circuit representing Christian County and Matthew Leveridge who serves as Commonwealth's Attorney for the 57th Judicial Circuit representing Russell and Wayne counties.

When presenting Pryor's award, General Conway said, "Lynn has distinguished herself not only as Christian County's first female Commonwealth's Attorney, but as someone who is deeply committed to the criminal justice system and her community. Lynn is currently working with my office in the prosecution of a former social worker accused of falsifying documents in child abuse cases. She has also spent countless hours working to revamp Kentucky's gang statutes to better track gangs and gang-related activities in the Commonwealth."

Of Leveridge, General Conway stated, "Matthew has prosecuted thousands of cases, including approximately 10 murder cases. He is currently prosecuting the case of a toddler who died after drinking chemicals used to manufacture meth. Matthew never turns down a special prosecution and is a tremendous asset to the prosecutorial system and to the residents of Russell and Wayne counties."

The recipients of the 2012 Outstanding County Attorney Awards are Marc Robbins, Madison County Attorney since 1999 and William "Bill" Hagenbuch, Allen County Attorney since 1990.

"Marc is always willing to take challenging cases and is an enormous help to my Office of Special Prosecutions," General Conway said. "Marc has been an active member of the Prosecutor's Advisory Council and a Kentucky Association of County's Board Member. He has also shown his commitment to the Madison County community through his work as a Project Graduation coordinator and as a board member of the Pattie A. Clay Medical Center Foundation."

Of Hagenbuch, General Conway stated, "Bill's office consistently has one of the highest DUI conviction rates in Kentucky. He has served the people of Allen County with distinction and honor and is involved in his community as a member of the Scottsville Chamber of Commerce, Scottsville Rotary Club and Chairman of the Board of the Scottsville/Allen County YMCA."

In concluding his remarks, General Conway thanked all of the members of Kentucky's prosecutorial community who work every day to make our communities safer places to live, work and raise families.

Photos of this year's award winners are available on the Attorney General's website.